Hearing records at Hear Again Records

As a person who needs to listen to music 24/7 and has a growing collection of vinyl records, finding out whether there was a record store in Gainesville was one the most important things to me.

img_2003

Hear Again Records is a cute record store in Downtown Gainesville right next to The Hippodrome State Theater and Starbucks.

The moment I entered, the store immediately won me over. With the vast amount of vinyls and posters that decorated the entire place. There are new vinyls and old ones, there is even a bin with vinyl that cost only a dollar. Hear Again Records also sells CDs and movies. If you are a big fan of the store, there are even T-shirts with the store’s logo that are only $15.

During my first visit to the store, I purchased a David Bowie poster (the cover of his album, The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars) to decorate my dorm. My second visit there, I purchased Big Star’s #1 Record (which features my favorite song, “Thirteen.” I highly recommend giving it a listening to). I did not purchase anything during my third visit, but I am determined to get the new album from Hope Sandoval And The Warm Inventions (a band formed by Mazzy Star’s Hope Sandoval and My Bloody Valentine’s Colm O Ciosoig), Until The Hunter.

The staff at Hear Again Records are very friendly. I had a nice conversation about the band, Alvvays (pronounced “always”), with a staff member during my third visit. I also received their approval when I purchased #1 Record.

The store is also a participant of Record Store Day, which is a day that celebrates the culture of independent record stores. It’s always held in April on a Saturday.

You can follow Hear Again Records on Instagram @hearagain. You can also “like” their Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/hearagainrecords. The store also has a website, which you can find here.

Leave a Reply

